Work Zones

Work Zones

TxDOT’s highest priority is the safety of everyone on our roadways — the workers who build and maintain Texas roads, and the drivers and passengers who travel through work zones across the state. With this safety goal in mind, we work to ensure that everyone gets home to their family safely. This emphasis is especially important because most victims of fatal crashes that occur in work zone are drivers and their passengers.
From 2012 to 2021, 4.6 percent of all traffic fatalities occurred in Work Zones.

Trending Up

Work zone fatalities have been trending up since 2018. The leading causes of work zone fatal crashes — Failed to Control Speed, Failed to Drive in Single Lane, and Under Influence (Alcohol) — are all entirely preventable.

High-traffic Hotspots

Areas with higher traffic volumes, particularly work zones, require more attention. Due to higher numbers of maintenance and construction projects, work zone fatalities are likelier to occur in areas around the state with increased traffic volumes.


Addressing the Problem

Each year in April, TxDOT recognizes National Work Zone Awareness Week by reminding motorists to make safe driving a priority when passing through the more than 3,400 active work zones in Texas. TxDOT continues to work on increased safety measures and public outreach to help motorists drive safely in work zones. This outreach reminds drivers of the state’s Move Over or Slow Down law requiring drivers to move over a lane or reduce their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit when approaching a TxDOT vehicle, emergency vehicle, tow truck or utility vehicle stopped with flashing blue or amber lights on the roadside or shoulder.
Violation of the Move Over or Slow Down law can result in a fine of up to $2,000. Remember fines double when workers are present. 

Drive Smart in Work Zones

TxDOT continues to work on increased safety measures and public outreach efforts to educate motorists about driving in work zones. As part of this outreach, we remind drivers of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law. It requires drivers to move over a lane or reduce their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit when approaching a TxDOT vehicle, emergency vehicle, tow truck or utility vehicle stopped with flashing blue or amber lights on the roadside or shoulder.
Female TxDOT employee smiling in safety gear. Hey, I don’t speed in your workplace. When driving through work zones, slow down, stay alert, don’t tailgate, and put the phone away. Remember, traffic fines double when workers are present. Be safe. Drive smart. TxDOT. #EndTheStreakTX